What's new

Stryke AV15 versus Lambda PB15-Le (1 Viewer)

Rob Formica

Stunt Coordinator
Just wondering how many of you have tried out the Lambda PB15-Le which is being offered at an incredible close-out price of 100$. I’m relatively new at this, but when I plug in the values into WinISD (vented enclosures), the result seems very competitive with the Stryke AV15. The PB15 has a slightly lower max SPL, but will play louder than the AV15 with the same power... and seems to better the Tempest on both max SPL and efficiency.

http://www.lambdacoustics.com/drivers/PB15.html

Many of you have quite a bit of experience building subs, and I was wondering if these drivers are the bargain of the month?

Thanks...
Rob

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
There are fewer and fewer poly cone sub drivers being offered. This is possibly due to the fact that poly is not inherently a very stiff material. Therefore the potential for cone nonlinearity is greater.

John E Janowitz

Second Unit
I have to disagree with ThomasW on the poly cone issue. Lambda had previously changed to all poly cones because that is what everyone wanted. The majority of people out there today don't want to buy paper cones because they believe they are outdated.

The poly cones used by Lambda are very stiff. The cone breakups are also damped very well on the poly cones that Lambda has picked. FYI, the cones are the same that JL Audio used on their older W6 series woofers. They were used in car audio environments where high SPL's were needed and proved to be very stiff and strong.

Now, comparing the PB15 and the AV15 you will notice a few things. Yes, the PB15 is slightly more efficient. This leads to a higher F3 point in the same enclosure size. Also, the AV15 has quite a bit more Xmax than the PB15. With enough available power, you'll be able to get an extra 3dB headroom or more out of the AV15 compared to the PB15.

John

Pete Mazz

Supporting Actor