What's new

storing dvds? (1 Viewer)

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
I'm going to be moving soon into an apartment, and I was wondering if anyone here had some suggestions for DVD storage. I'm a college student so I have a small budget, but with over 200 DVDs and another 200 CDs, I need something to put them on.

Any suggests?

Doesn't have to be pretty, just has to get the job done.

JustinCleveland

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Justin Cleveland
Josh,

I'm like you... I was a poor college student in a small apartment. I spent about 100 dollars on book shelves and DVD racks, and stored them like that. It wasn't pretty, but it did the job I needed it too.

Dmitry

Supporting Actor
I bought one similar to this (just bigger size). It's a bit flimsy but it gets the job done and it's certainly cheap. They have different sizes.

ChrisBEA

Screenwriter
I have a big problem of storage.
almost 1200 CDs
almost 700 DVDs
and I have a small room, there all getting piled on and in front of each other....

Ted Ehlers

Grip
Hmmm.

You could always get a couple of 500 disk changers and link them up... throw your cases out, and uses the booklets for wallpaper in your den... I mean Home Theater.

ChrisBEA

Screenwriter
Sadly, I don't have my own place and am pretty much confined to a relatively small room. I have a 250 dvd rack, and a couple of 3 drawer rolling carts I'm using. But it's nowhere near enough to hold my addiction.

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
Wow... not only is that unit expensive ($100+), but I'd need to get two of them to hold everything! Last semester, I had some of those cheap wire racks that I grew to hate very quickly - because each DVD had to go into it's own slot, if I ever bought a new DVD I'd have to take them all out to realphabetize, so I ended up leaving half of my collection in order on the shelf and half on the floor. What a nightmare.