Sticking a Tower in a HTPC Case

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Grant B, Apr 25, 2004.

  1. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems simple enough but there is always somethings that makes it hard. Anyone take a normal tower PC and stick it in a HTPC case? What about the PS and cabling....just switch it to the new case?
    My computer is a Sony Viao RX series if that matters
    Thanks
    Grant
     
  2. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If both cases are the same form factor, ATX being the most common, then it should work. But companies like Dell, Gateway, HP, Sony sometimes use proprietary setups as well that make this difficult, if not impossible. They don't want the PC upgrade friendly, they want you to buy a new one. Really hard to say until you attempt it.
     
  3. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to find out...size, marking etcif it's standard?
     
  4. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are going to be two formats you should check.. Microatx & ATX. Now, if your MB in that VIAO is a microATX, then it will have no more then 3 total slots normally (or 4 if a shared AGP) if it's a full form factor (larger board) you need to know as many HTPC cases are geared at microATX boards. A lot of the RX series seem to be full ATX, not micro.
     
  5. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks!
     

Share This Page