Stereo/Sap/Mono - Coax and composite question

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Jefff, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. Jefff

    Jefff Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Greetings!
    I just recently purchased another Toshiba direct view television,This time
    a 27a44 for a room with no sound system (external speakers/amp. etc.)
    Just the set/cable box/dvd/vcr/game system.
    I have a question on the "MTS" feature.
    According to the manual,when this button is pressed while getting a stereo or sap broadcast,"stereo" should be displayed on screen-however,for every channel it only says "mono".
    I believe the coax cable from my box only carries a mono signal.
    I could also hook up the box from composite out into one of the video inputs,
    but the manual states that the mts feature does not work for any other input
    other than coax.
    Can I not get stereo or sap broadcasts?
    With the coax out of the box and into the vcr and out to tv,and a "hi-fi stereo vhs tape is played and "MTS" is pressed it also displays "mono"
    Is there any way to see/hear "stereo or sap" displayed on my screen?
    I assume the component/audio connection's default would be stereo,but what about the video (composite)inputs and coax?
    Any help or answer would be appreciated.

    Thanx in advance.
    CHEERS! jefff
     
  2. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stereo/SAP/mono depends on the way the audio is combined with the composite video for analog transmission over the air or on cable. Only from the coax RF input would the TV be able to notice this and display the proper word on the screen.

    If you tune in the channel using the VCR and feed the TV with red/white/yellow cables, the sound has already been separated into left and right (or English and Spanish etc. if SAP). Do you actually hear stereo?

    It shouldn't be but I would not be surprised if a "stereo" VCR plays a stereo tape as stereo via the audio outputs but modulates the sound as mono for sending the signal via coax as channel 3/4.

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  3. Jefff

    Jefff Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx!
    And thanx for the link,good reading.
    CHEERS! jefff
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Expounding a little on what Alan said:
    This is absolutely the case. I’m guessing you have the cable box connected between the wall and TV, right?

    What happens is the cable box (or VCR) demodulates the RF (radio frequency) signal for stereo audio, as would the TV if the cable feed was connected directly to it. (If the feed was going directly to the TV you would be getting the “stereo” and “sap” indications on the appropriate channels.)

    However, the cable box and VCR do not re-modulate the signal as it goes to the RF output connection. Therefore the signal that comes in on Channel 3 or 4 will always be mono.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  5. Jefff

    Jefff Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx for Expounding Wayne!
    Makes sense,i'll be rearranging equipment in there soon,
    and this info helps a lot.
    I appreciate it gentlemen.

    CHEERS! jefff
     

Share This Page