What's new

Stephen Hawkins says he was wrong about black holes (1 Viewer)

Ricardo C

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ricardo C

*sigh* That's my problem with Stephen. He simplifies things entirely too much for the sake of the masses *indignant scoff*

;)

Bryan X

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Bryan
:rolleyes:Steven Hawking obviously doesn't know what he's talking about. Everyone knows a Black Hole is simply an extremely dense mass of Silica.

andrew markworthy

Senior HTF Member
It's quite simple really. It's a set of instructions to Prof Hawking's gardener. He's having a Euclidian path built (presumably some sort of fancy brickwork) and the rest is instructions that it's okay to tread on the trivial metrics (a sort of daisy) but to be careful with the non-trivial metrics. I think the rest of it is just a case of not being able to read his writing.

Joe D

Supporting Actor
I work as a Supervisor in a production facility, and I sent one of the above articles to my fellow Supervisors and I told them that while we have many challenges to face during the day, we don't have anything on this guy.

Exactly.

Grant B

Senior HTF Member
andrew
You hit it on the nose!

I think that means his doggie pooped on the path

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
I've always wondered if it is because of Stephen Hawkins' affliction that he is brilliant or whether he would have been able to do even more had he not been. Either or, there's now hope to find my missing socks in the washer.

Tony Whalen

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tony Whalen

Oh now come on. Who didn't know that?!

I mean, I built a Euclidean path in my back yard YEARS ago! Sheesh!

Ike

Screenwriter

He did not always have his condition (ALS). In a Brief History of Time, he referenced a choice of not pursuing his career (I'm blanking on the exact title he was going for) since the doctor's told him he would be dead before he completed.