Starting Grad School Today...ahhhhh!

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Chuck C, May 17, 2004.

1. Chuck C

Chuck C Cinematographer

I'm starting grad school today...I'm working towards my MS in Accountancy. I registered for two 3 hour classes which last 5wks and plan to take 2 courses per semester until I earn my degree.

Questions:

-Has anyone worked towards an MBA or MS in Acc?
    -What should I expect in regards to the course load? (I hear it is rough)
    -Anything else I should know?

The goal: To work for a CPA firm and qualify for the CPA exam.

2. LDfan

LDfan Supporting Actor

God help you Chuck. My question is: Do you really need a Masters degree? You don't need it to sit for the CPA exam do you?

Jeff

3. Patrick_S

Patrick_S Producer

Best of luck, in the long run having a Masters couldn't hurt your earning potential.

4. Phil_L

Phil_L Second Unit

I got my Masters straight out of college and have never regretted it. It was an incredible two years. I learned a great deal from my job as a research assistant and made some of the best friends of my life. I did not pursue a degree in your field Chuck, but an education is something that no one can ever take from you. It will be of great benefit. The work load in my program was indeed heavy, but manageable if you know how to budget your time. My program was very reading and research intensive, but I don't know how yours will be. Good luck, and enjoy it.

5. SethH

SethH Cinematographer

My fiancee is getting ready to start the Masters of Accountancy program here at Virginia Tech. Turns out that approximately 45 states require a minimum of 150 hours of coursework to sit for the CPA exam. Here at Tech they turned it into a 5-year Master's program that last for 152 hours.

Good luck. I know my fiancee isn't looking forward to the coursework, but if accounting is what you want to do it's hard to avoid.

6. Eggert

Eggert Agent