Star Wars in HD?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Luke_H, Mar 29, 2001.

  1. Luke_H

    Luke_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got this clip off of Theforce.net. Usually pretty reliable.
    http://www.theforce.net/episode1/newspics/sw_foxtel.jpg
    If this is true, it will probably air on SHO. Which we all know is simulcast on SHOHD. Which might mean the films will be in HD.
    Even if it's 480p, I'll take it in a heartbeat.
    Can anyone confirm this?
    -Luke
     
  2. Paul W

    Paul W Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1999
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the ad specifically mentions Showtime in Austrailia. The home video rights are probably different in the US than Australia. I am certain that TPM will be shown on FOX HD (terrestrial) later this year.
    You'll note that Fox does not support HD. Therefore, TPM will be broadcast in 480p.
    I'm not sure what is up with the OT. I guess we'll see.
    ------------------
    [​IMG] Paul Warren
    Hey fella . . . I bet you're still livin' in your parent's cellar . . . downloading pictures of Sarah Michelle Gellar . . . and posting "Me too!" like some brain-dead AOL-er . . . I should do the world a favor and cap ya' like Old Yeller . . . you're just about as useless as MPEGs to Hellen Keller.
     
  3. Chris S

    Chris S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    9
    Real Name:
    Chris S
    Just wanted to let everyone know that lots of rumors have been flying all over the place about TPM airing being pushed back until the 4th quarter. There is a story about this over at TheForce.net about this whole issue. Now how reliable is this? I don't know. I really don't believe it, but I guess that it is possible. Typically TheForce tends to be fairly accurate about reporting news, but this seems just a little far fetched. Thanks, Chris
    ------------------
    Home Theater: http://www.ig-88.net
     
  4. JakeR

    JakeR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard the same thing. www.aint-it-cool-news.com reported the story, mentioning that Fox has pulled the ads for the April airing. Now, AICN ain't Time magazine, but I don't find the story too hard to believe.
     
  5. Bill_M

    Bill_M Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 1998
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fox has broadcast in HD. ID4 was one such broadcast.
     
  6. Dan Hitchman

    Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Again, Fox Broadcasting does not support HDTV, the cheap friggin' bastards.
    What you are seeing are SDTV signals-- 480i upconverted to 480p (at the 16x9 ratio). Usually, the programs' broadcast sub-masters aren't even native 480p. However, a lot of their shows are mastered on HDTV video equipment since most are either shot using 35mm film or HDTV video cameras (probably at 16x9 1080p for archival quality).
    Dan
    ------------------
    Boycott JVC, 5C, HDCP, DFAST, and stop the MPAA!! Call Or Write The FCC And Your State and Federal Representatives To Protect Quality HDTV And Other HD Media, And Your Constitutional Rights!
     
  7. Scott Gilbert

    Scott Gilbert Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 1999
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to see Star Wars but not unless it is commercial free. I still have not seen episode 1 because I do not go to the theaters anymore and its not on DVD. I hope they broadcast it on HDTV HBO or release the stupid thing on DVD.
     

Share This Page