What's new

Star Trek III - no new cut (1 Viewer)

Matt Pasant

Second Unit
I don't really think so, granted I am not an expert but a casual fan.

Personally, I really do not know what you could add to III and not slow down the action or the moving of the story. It happens to be one of my favorties of the series, and I feel it plays just right in its current form.

-- Matt

Kenny Goldin

Second Unit
Are we sure we are getting SEs of ALL the Trek movies? If so I am prepared to sell off my current DVDs, at least from Kahn to Generations in exchange for the SEs (First Contact and Insurrection are pretty good DVDs quality-wise so I would wait to see if there were any bonus materials worthy of upgrading them.

I would hate to sell and see Paramount quit on the SE thing before they went through the whole catalog.

I am one of the few fans of Generations (3rd best Trek IMHO) and am anxiously looking for an anamporphic transfer...

Richard Ruffner

Stunt Coordinator
I've heard nothing about any footage from ST III that was cut. (Unlike 2,6,7).

I believe Paramounts rep said that they will work their way back up the movies chronologically making SE's as they go. I guess some will be Director's Cuts, and some will be just SE's.

Dave H

Senior HTF Member
I don't understand why no one thought Star Trek I was the best. This movie was more close to the TV series than any of the other films.

Jeff Pryor

Supporting Actor
ST:TMP was good, fondly remembered as the one that helped bring Trek back in a big way. The recent Director's Cut is the best, IMO, and I was there for the original theatrical release in Dec '79. It's still one of my favs, but for me not the best. I still think ST II and III were closer to what the original series was like.

Osato

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tim
I just read about III on Trekweb as well as The Digital Bits. I will be picking it up for the extras though. Great movie. I'm such a huge fan of the original crew.