What's new

Stacking Subs on top of one another? (1 Viewer)

Martice

Screenwriter
Theoretically, is it wrong to stack 2 subs on top of one another in one corner?
------------------
What if it gets no better than this!?!

Jeffrey Noel

Screenwriter
Martice, from what I've read, it is not bad to stack one sub on top of another. You just want to make sure that they are secure.
It seems that having subs in the same corner will sound better. I'm new at this, so maybe this is a pointless reply?! :)
Oh well, just count on Jack Gilvey to give you the best info.
------------------
God bless!
jeffrey noel
My DVD Collection

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
Technically, I can't see much of a problem from stacking them (other than stability - make sure they don't rattle each other over).
The only drawback might be is if you have any dead spots in your listening area from room modes, you probably wont be solving any of those problems with stacking.
Ideally, they should be placed in the front left and right corners to fill out the listening area more evenly.
Overall I would say, if you have room, separate 'em. I think you'll be much more satisfied with the sound.
-=DP=-

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
I'd have to disaggree Dave. I think stacking is considered the ideal option. When they are stacked you know they will couple properly and give you as close to possible that ideal extra 6dB of headroom. But for appearance or space reasons it usually isn't done. If you put a sub in each corner you have to deal with a lot of phase cancellation issues.
Granted stacking two subs in a none ideal location doesn't solve room mode problems, but putting a sub in each corner won't necessarily either. Ideally I think you would find the best location for one sub. Hopefully no room modes, but if they are there you want them to cause peaks not valleys. Then you stack the second sub ontop, level adjust and use an EQ to kill the peaks if any.
------------------
Dustin
[email protected]