Stacking Componets

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JamesMartin, Aug 30, 2001.

1. JamesMartin

JamesMartin Extra

Hi guys. If you remember me you will know that I am a newbie to HT but I have been reading your post almost every day.
    My question:
    I have a very small TV/Stereo stand and don't have much room for my Onkyo 595 and Onkyo CD changer, PS2, VCR, Cable Box, etc. Right now I have my Cd changer directly on top of my receiver. The back of the stand is open and there is a little space above the Cd changer (about 3 inches) and I always leave the glass door open when playing it (which usually isn't for that long at a time (maybe two hours a day or so).
    Is this going to "hurt" anything? The reason I ask is because I have read some posts that say you should never put anything on top of your receiver or it will "cook" it?
    Please help cause I might have to buy a new TV stand and audio stand cause I have no where else to put my components.
    Thanks again.

2. Mike LS

Mike LS Supporting Actor

If your CD player is a 5 disc carousel, then it should be big enough to swap the order.
    Put the 595 on top of the cd player and you'll be better off. CD players don't put off heat (under normal conditions anyhow) plus there aren't any vents on the top of the player.
    The way you've got it set up now, your 595 isn't getting the ventalation that it needs. Those slots are there for a reason and need to be unobstructed. Having that CD player up there is bound to run the receiver to an early grave.

3. Allan

Allan Stunt Coordinator