Specific Questions on Onkyo/Denon receivers -Please Help!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by MarkMaestas, Jan 17, 2002.

1. MarkMaestas

MarkMaestas Agent

I'm new to home theater and I'm looking at getting a good affordable receiver. I've been looking at the Onkyo TX-DS595 and the Denon AVR-1802. From the threads that I've read, I've heard of a few differences. I know the Denon has pre-outs. Is this something that I will likely use in the future? for what purpose? Will I need one of these preouts if I decide to use aura bass kickers in the future? or 2 subs?

I also know that the two recievers differ slightly on the number of inputs/outputs that they have. Will I run out? I'm not sure what I need. I have the Mitsubishi Platinum Series WS55807 55" TV, a Pioneer DV333 DVD player (will likely upgrade to a progressive), a CD player, a HI FI VCR, and I have digital cable. I may cancel the cable and get Direct TV and I may also add a Nintendo game system.

Neither recievers have component video in/outputs. Is this something that I should have?

I have heard that the Denon is harder to set up. Is this a big issue for someone new to home theater or just a slight pain? And the Denon remote has been criticized...is it a big deal or can I replace with a relatively inexpensive radio shack remote?

I can buy both recievers for very close to the same price...the Onkyo slightly higher from an authorized dealer (JandR.com)and the Denon from an unauthorized dealer (etronics.com).

I've been leaning towards the Denon because of the preouts, but I don't know if 'll use them. Or should I upgrade a level and get something that has preouts and component video in/outputs? Money is not the main issue. I don't want to spend more than I need to, but I don't want to miss something basic and feel like I have to upgrade real soon.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Mark

2. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor

Onkyo ROOLZ Denon SUX!!!!! [​IMG]
    hee hee hee....