Speakers working only Half Way

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brett Jordan, Sep 17, 2002.

1. Brett Jordan

Brett Jordan Auditioning

Hi, I have a Sony STR-K840P Reciever. When using the small Sony speakers it works fine, but with my Technic floor speakers, it will not play out of the two subs in them. I have tried changing all the setting, and I can get the suns to work only about half way. Any suggestions or question please ask or tell.

Thanks

2. Robert N.

Robert N. Auditioning

I'm no expert but I'll give it a shot...

Are you routing the speakers through an external subwoofer? If you are most of them have high pass filters which eliminate all frequencies below whatever it is set at from the factory...

If not...then maybe you have a filter turned on your reciever or something?

3. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

brett - i think we need a little more info. [​IMG]
    if i understand your post, your saying you have no problems using the small speakers, but you're not getting any bass out of the technics? what do you mean they only work half the time?
    do you have only one set of speaker connections in the back of the technics? if there are four connections, is there a metallic bar connecting two pair?
    how do you have the speakers connected to the receiver? like robert said, is there a sub in the signal path?
    describe when the technics "work" and when they don't "work" correctly.

4. Brett Jordan

Brett Jordan Auditioning

Ok, The sony reciever has all the speaker outs, and a separate out for the sub woofer i am using. i guess "working half way" is wrong, but the tweeter and the midrange work fine, the subs do not put out at all.
    there are just the standard two wire conections in the back of the floors. i have played these speakers on another system, and they work fine, but will not put out low range through the sony reciever.
    thanks again, and im sure you will need some more info [​IMG]

5. John Garcia