What's new

speakers for a newbie (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Scott
I've narrowed my future speaker purchase down to the following 2 speakers: B&W DM604 S3 or Axiom M80ti. I've read lots on both and it's fairly well known that the B&W's are more subdued and the Axioms could be a little on the bright side.

So I'm looking for some personal experiences and what others would choose. Does not one person in any of these forums have anything bad to say about Axiom (haven't heard anything yet)? I'd hate to think they're perfect.

I plan on powering them with a Marantz 9200 receiver and I listen to about 70% TV(dig.sat) & DVD Movies and 30% Music (mostly rock). But I do prefer my Music to sound as near perfect as possible. Will either of these speakers perform better in this type of situation?

Thanks in advance for every ones help.:)

JimC_A

Stunt Coordinator
I was a brand spanking newbie once. I still am for that matter. The only bad thing I can say about my Axiom's...I couldn't audition them first. That being said, it didn't matter about the non-audition. I auditioned everything possible at the local B and M's. I bought the Axioms on a hunch and some good advice. I've never had buyers remorse. I am sure that all ears are different though. Good luck on your search. BTW, for the price I paid, I find it hard to believe they can be beat.

CurtisSC

Screenwriter
The only thing that could possibly negative that I have heard is that the Axioms need a "break-in" period...30 hours or so. After that, it is smooth sailing.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
B&Ws need that break in too, if not moreso. Take a listen to the CDM series from B&W. Much better IMO than the 600 series, even given the lack of bass of the smaller units.

Leo_P

Second Unit
Take a listen to the CDM series from B&W. Much better IMO than the 600 series...