What's new

Speakers and Receivers - under $2K (1 Viewer)

Tony TW

Auditioning
I am new to the Home Theatre arena thus any advice will be truly appreciated.... With a budget of ~$1.5k, I am looking to replacing/upgrading my existing Pioneer VSX-305 HTS (purchased off my roommate back in the university days The HTS delivers lower than par sound quality even comparing to some $200 boom-boxes out there)

My two choices are:
COLOR=red]1). Replace the whole system:[/color]
Looked at:
Receiver - Denon AVR1803
Speakers - Energy Take 5.2
Sub - Definitive Technologies Pro-Sub80
Total package $1.5k -- Overall I like the combo except that the Take5.2 are not that solid in mid-range although the clarity is superb.

[ 2). Upgrade Components:
keep Pioneer VSX-305 receiver, front and rear (all bookshelf size) speakers and replace front speakers and subs:
Front:
- Energy Connoisseur C-3
- Athena Techologies AS F1
- Klipsch RF 5 or 7 (bit overf my budget)
Sub:
- Definitive Technologies Pro-Sub 80

Questions:
For Choice 1:
- any other system you would recommend?
- how much should I spend between speakers/receiver. Is 75%:25% about right?
For Choice 2:
- I can find little info on my receiver -- should I replace it or just keep as is and upgrade later?
- Is it more important to upgrade the speakers (esp. front) first and the receiver later ?
- any comment about front speakers/ sub listed -- any other choices you would recommend?

Many thanks in advance !!!!

Regards Tony;)

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
Tony, I have not heard the Energy’s but they are certainly getting very good reviews. But as to alternatives, have you considered Ascends with a VTF-2 or the Rocket ELTs? Both would come in at that figure or below.

AV123 has their ELT system plus a Denon 1804 for $1,250. If you are OK with the look of their wood cabinets, this is a fine system for primary HT use and is also quite good for music.

Users who are viewing this thread