Speakers 5.1 and Receiver for $700? Lots of research, but no real experience….help pl

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Brian Tatnall, May 22, 2003.

1. Brian Tatnall

Brian Tatnall Stunt Coordinator

May 21, 2003
    Speakers 5.1 and Receiver for $700? Lots of research, but no real experience….help please.

1st time poster and I didn’t know if I should post here or in the Speaker section. Sorry.

***System Wants***
    I’m a college student looking to have a decent 5.1 (6.1 if I can) system for my room. I have $700. I have a long background in car audio, but know little about home audio receivers like which companies rate their amps with all driven, one, or a few. The room I have is about 12x12. I’ll be building my own subwoofer probably with a Shiva since Dan Wiggins has educated me.

Given my background I enjoy a heavier low end, aggressive mid section, and laid back tweeters. I mainly listen to alternative, rock, and hip-hop.

Anyway, I’m thinking that I want to put between $200-$250 towards an amp and $450-$500 on the speakers excluding sub. Should this be changed? I would like to have a warranty on the receiver, but I am not as concerned with a warranty for the speakers.

In my system I already have
    -Sony KV-27FV300

Well here is the research I have done on receivers and my thoughts…suggest away:

Harman Kardon:
    These all seem to be low wattage and I’m worried about that, but they also seem to be the highest rated by most people. Should I be worried about this.
    Prices from http://www.harmanaudio.com.
    Harman Kardon HK 3470-Z $188.00
    Harman Kardon AVR300-Z $238.00
    HK 120: couldn’t find it.
    Couldn’t find much info, but they are cheap.

Everything is too expensive for me. Except.
    Denon AVR-483 New In Stock Legacy Sale price: $227.52

I’m supposed to stay away from these.

These all seemed pretty expensive. I want to know more about them.
    I found the ONKYO TX-SR500 at JandR.com for $149.88.