Speaker Wire

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by James_C, Oct 24, 2001.

1. James_C

James_C Agent

I am a newbie and I just purchased a pair of the Def Tech BP-8B's. I need to know what gage wire I should use. Do I use the same for the center and surrounds too???

2. Marty M

Marty M Cinematographer

I would recommend 12 gauge wire all around. You should be able to get this at Lowe's or Home Depot for around $.35 a foot.

3. Nick G

Nick G Stunt Coordinator

I would add Radio Shack to Marty's list of places to get 12G speaker wire.
    Nick

4. Nick_Gray

Nick_Gray Agent

Just a question regarding the Lowes' wire (which I currently use): One of the wires is all copper, while the other is copper and aluminum (I assume - it's silver in color). Now correct me if I'm wrong, but don't copper and aluminum have some sort of weak electrochemical reaction on contact? I thought we did a little test in high-school where we wired aluminum and copper together and got a very, very small voltage.
    If this is the case, wouldn't that jack with the sound quality (theoretically, I'm not saying I can hear a difference between my left and right channels). Besides which, it would accelerate corrosion, and I know that oxidized copper is not nearly the conductor that pure copper is.

5. Gregg Loewen

Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

Gregg Loewen
    I use Home Depot wire. 12 guage and 35 cents a foot. If I remember correctly I got a 250 foot roll for $65. Both wires are made up of the same material.
    Gregg
    ------------------
    The Sonodome
    The Newest Sonotube
    Gregg's DVDs
    The Family Units

6. Dan Driscoll

Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

7. Nick_Gray

Nick_Gray Agent

By the way, I meant Home Depot, the $.34/ft variety. The stuff I got is definitely multicolored. I believe it was labeled "12/2 Speaker Wire". I tried to pull up the data on it from their web site, but crashed just before I could pull it up.