What's new

Speaker Wire (1 Viewer)

James_C

Agent
I am a newbie and I just purchased a pair of the Def Tech BP-8B's. I need to know what gage wire I should use. Do I use the same for the center and surrounds too???

Marty M

Senior HTF Member
I would recommend 12 gauge wire all around. You should be able to get this at Lowe's or Home Depot for around $.35 a foot.

Nick G

Stunt Coordinator
I would add Radio Shack to Marty's list of places to get 12G speaker wire.
Nick

Nick_Gray

Agent
Just a question regarding the Lowes' wire (which I currently use): One of the wires is all copper, while the other is copper and aluminum (I assume - it's silver in color). Now correct me if I'm wrong, but don't copper and aluminum have some sort of weak electrochemical reaction on contact? I thought we did a little test in high-school where we wired aluminum and copper together and got a very, very small voltage.
If this is the case, wouldn't that jack with the sound quality (theoretically, I'm not saying I can hear a difference between my left and right channels). Besides which, it would accelerate corrosion, and I know that oxidized copper is not nearly the conductor that pure copper is.

Gregg Loewen

Founder, Professional Video Alliance
Insider
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gregg Loewen
I use Home Depot wire. 12 guage and 35 cents a foot. If I remember correctly I got a 250 foot roll for $65. Both wires are made up of the same material.
Gregg
------------------
Link Removed
The Newest Sonotube
Gregg's DVDs
The Family Units

Dan Driscoll

Supporting Actor
One of the wires is all copper, while the other is copper and aluminum (I assume - it's silver in color).
I believe the 'silver' wire is actually silver plated copper, not aluminum. Silver has an excellent electrochemical bond with copper.
------------------
Dan

Nick_Gray

Agent