Speaker wire & Video in

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Mark C Wagner, Jun 22, 2003.

1. Mark C Wagner

Mark C Wagner Auditioning

Just want to first say this forum is awesome! I am a newbie and always treated with respect. Moving along, just picked up an Onkyo TX-SR700 and had a couple of questions. I would like to use 12 gauge oxygen free cable for my speakers. That seems to be just about the general consenus among most. I need about a hundred ft roll and was wondering if anyone had any favorite place to purchase. I have checked out a couple of places on the net to no avail.

Second question: My projection TV just has a S-video input so obviously from the reciever to the TV I would use the S-video input. But from my DVD to the reciever, should I use the component connections to the reciever? Or should I use the S-video from the DVD to the reciever?

Finally, is there any merit to using a "high-priced" or high quality S-video cable, verses the cable that is supplied with the reciever or DVD?

Thanks for support and help. I do mean it !!

Mark

Proverbs 3:4-5

2. Jason.Soko

Jason.Soko Stunt Coordinator

3. JamesHl

JamesHl Supporting Actor

2) Svideo all the way. I don't think I've seen a receiver that converts component to or from anything.

As long as the cable doesn't receive a lot of interference, there's usually not a big difference. Having said that, if you have a lot of junk back there (power cords, speaker wire, etc.) it might make something of a difference.

4. Mark C Wagner

And again I say "thank you"... I wish there were special words for special people in this forum. This is great !! I am excited about hooking this all up, but wanted some input from the forum, but was reluctant to post as I thought it might take too long for replies. I was not disappointed !!

I will check out the site, order my wire, and hopefully I will be up and running soon.

Thanks for your posts !!

5. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer