What's new

Speaker wire is speaker wire is speaker wire. Or is it? (1 Viewer)

Javier_Huerta

Supporting Actor
When I bought my last speaker set, the dealer tried to sell me a set of $90 interconnects and some speaker cable at $14 a meter.
I kindly said "no", and walked away.
I've been listening to many for and against arguments when it comes to interconnects. Frankly, I can't imagine how a couple of meters of wire can make that much of a difference.
Furthermore, being an engineer I'd accept the fact that some cables could transmit energy from one point to the other better than others. But not in the audible range (I'm thinking megahertz here).
I was wondering if someone could provide a link to actual data regarding this subject.
Thanks! ;)

Martice

Screenwriter
I've been listening to many for and against arguments when it comes to interconnects. Frankly, I can't imagine how a couple of meters of wire can make that much of a difference.
I have a wonderful experiment for you Javier. Why don't you get a pair of the cheapest speaker cable or the red and white ITC's that come with your usual audio gear and listen to them for a good while. Maybe 2 weeks or so. Then get some DIY cables from Canare or Belden and listen to the same material using them and see what you find.

Listening to arguments when it comes to ITC's is one thing but listening to the cables themselves in a system you're very familiar with including familiar source material, will give you the answers to your questions more soundly then any personal testimony or numeric facts can. This may not be a scientific method but it's the one that counts when your sitting back listening to your favorite tracks or in your case, your favorite mixes.

Good Luck.

Saurav

Senior HTF Member