Speaker wire is speaker wire is speaker wire. Or is it?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Javier_Huerta, Aug 20, 2002.

1. Javier_Huerta

Javier_Huerta Supporting Actor

When I bought my last speaker set, the dealer tried to sell me a set of $90 interconnects and some speaker cable at $14 a meter.
    I kindly said "no", and walked away.
    I've been listening to many for and against arguments when it comes to interconnects. Frankly, I can't imagine how a couple of meters of wire can make that much of a difference.
    Furthermore, being an engineer I'd accept the fact that some cables could transmit energy from one point to the other better than others. But not in the audible range (I'm thinking megahertz here).
    I was wondering if someone could provide a link to actual data regarding this subject.
    Thanks! [​IMG]

2. Martice

Martice Screenwriter

3. Saurav

Saurav Cinematographer

Witn line level interconnects, the reasons for them sounding different is fairly easy to explain. An interconnect works into a fairly high impedance, around 100Kohms or more in some cases. This impedance combines with the capacitance of the cable to form a low pass filter, cutting off the higher frequencies. If the cable has a high enough capacitance (which depends on cable construction and length) and it's driving a high enough input impedance, the cutoff frequency of this filter could become low enough to enter into the audible range. The math is pretty easy to do: f = 1 / (2*pi*R*C). Take 6 or 9 feet of something like Radio Shack Gold Series interconnects which someone has measured to be around 50pF/ft and hook that up to say a 100Kohm amp (very common figure for tube amps), and see for yourself what the filter's cutoff frequency is going to be.