What's new

Speaker Wire Guage Recommendation... (1 Viewer)

John Doh

Stunt Coordinator
I want to buy Monster Cable brand wire, that I can run through the attic so I guess it needs to be sheilded or something too. I am only going to need about 50 feet of wire to each speaker which are going to be my surrounds. My surround speakers are JBL Studio series S-36II's being fed by the HK AVR-230. Which guage wire should I get and if possible, what model number of Monster Cable is it? Thanks!!

I'm by no means an expert, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I was talking to the guy that wired my house, and he said that for under 50 feet, 16 gauge wire was fine. Above 50 feet he said he would move to 14 gauge wire. He didn't mention how long the run would need to be to justify 12 gauge wire. I just picked up 50ft of 12-gage wire to make patch cables from the amp to the center/fronts and to the wall jacks for the surround, however, it may be overkill.

I guess it really depends on who you talk to. I guess some will say that you need 10 or 12 gauge wire for even the shortest connections. It really depends on how much YOU really think it makes a difference.

HTH,
Mike W.

Does using stranded cable make a difference (as opposed to using solid cable). I realize that running zeros and ones over a wire isn't the exact same as audio, but in the networking world, we use stranded cable only for cables less than 15-20 feet. Anything over that, we use only solid-conductor cable. Seems the same would apply in audio (or would it?). I guess in the network world we're talking signals up to 125MHz, so perhaps audio at ~20KHz (or even 80KHz allowing for second order harmonics) could easily be preserved with stranded cable? (heh, they may not even make solid 12 gauge wire for audio.... shows what I know ;) )

Mike W.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Yes, and the wire is also twisted pair to improve the ability to send data at higher bandwidth.