Speaker Upgrade

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Joe McDonnell, Feb 26, 2012.

1. Joe McDonnell

Joe McDonnell Auditioning

Hi, newbie here who knows absolutely nothing about audio and video but very willing to learn. I just sold an my Polk S-6's and looking to upgrade. I don't have tons of cash to drop on speakers so my ceiling is around $400/pair. Any help steering me in the right direction would be appreciated. FYI - I'm not an audio buff and my speakers would be mainly used for movies.... I have the following components Receiver - Yamaha RX-V371 Sub - Poll Audio PSW 505 12" Center - Infinity Systems Thanks!

2. Mike Thomass

Mike Thomass Stunt Coordinator

would you be interested in building your own speakers?

3. Joe McDonnell

That would be kind neat! But wouldn't know where to begin.

4. Mike Thomass

it is neat, and i didnt know where to begin either heres my thread somewhere in there is a list of tools you will need (list is on the last page i think)

5. Mike Thomass

6. Joe McDonnell

Look interesting but I can't dedicate the time needed to a product of this magnitude. (Especially since I am, at the moment, speakerless!):)

7. gene c

gene c Producer

Gene
    If you have an Infinity center then you should also use Infinity's as fronts for that timbre match thing. Which Infinity center do you have?

8. Joe McDonnell

Infinity Video 1 center channel.... I'm on a budget, is infinity doable?

9. gene c

gene c Producer

Gene