Speaker Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Dave Gorman, Oct 5, 2003.

1. Dave Gorman

Dave Gorman Supporting Actor

My current speaker setup is a bit of a shameful hodge-podge, so I've been starting to consider a speaker upgrade. I'm a speaker novice, never having researched or followed the speaker forum. Aside from avoiding Bose, I really don't even know what brands are good and what are not.

Cost is an issue -- I don't know how little I can get by with spending and still make a worthwhile upgrade to my speaker system. Perhaps I can recycle my sub & center and just replace the other 4?

Here is my non-speaker equipment:

Receiver: Sony STR-DE835 (5.1 DD/DTS)
    DVD: Panasonic RP62
    TV: Toshiba 50H81

Here are my present speakers:

Center: Klipsch SC1
    Sub: Yamaha YST-5W90
    Front L/R: Bose 501
    Rear L/R: Bose 301

Room size: 9' wide, 21' deep, 6.5' high

Yes, I'm well aware Bose has a dreadful reputation among those who know about speakers, but I picked up all 4 several years ago for a total of $75.

What would you all recommend?

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    What do you think your actual price range will be?

SELL the BOSE and see what you can get, you'd be surprised. You certainly can't get less than what you spent on them.

My recommendation would be to replace the front 3 within your budget. If that is too much, then just get a good main pair and upgrade over time. Then center, then sub, then receiver, because you can probably get by with the 301s as rears for a while.

3. Dave Gorman

4. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John

5. Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer