Speaker Setup with Denon 3802

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Lovely, Feb 18, 2002.

1. Jason Lovely

Jason Lovely Stunt Coordinator

I'm considering purchasing the Denon AVR-3802 receiver, and I want a speaker setup that takes advantage of the DTS ES Discrete 6.1. If I understand correctly, I will need two front main speakers (L/R), a center channel speaker, two rear surround speakers (L/R), a rear center speaker, and a sub. I am confused as to whether or not the rear center channel is also supposed to have a L/R combination. Originally, I was thinking of purchasing Cerwin-Vega speakers from Best Buy, but in my previous post a couple of readers steered me away from them. I'm a newbie, so I would really appreciate suggestions for a good speaker setup. I will use the setup mainly for movies, but I will also play tunes on it from time to time. Right now I have a Toshiba 32" TV and I'm using my XBOX to watch movies, but I will probably upgrade the DVD player so I can get a DTS signal out of it. I already have a Sony player that I believe supports DTS, but for some reason it is not compatible with the Toshiba TV (puts a green spot on the screen every now and then). Thanks in advance.

2. greg jones

greg jones Stunt Coordinator

Unless you want to have the extra channel for future needs or need the power of the 3802, I'd suggest you look into the 2802 instead. It's the same receiver except for a couple of things. The 2802 is a 6.1 receiver with 90Wx6. The 3802 is a true 7.1 with 110(?)Wx7. The 2802 DOES have preamp outs for 7.1 if you decide to upgrade (you will need an external 2-channel amp to run the rear 2 speakers). Otherwise, the specs are the exact same for the two receivers. If you go with the 2802, you'll save yourself enough money to help with getting better speakers.