What's new

Speaker Sensitivity (1 Viewer)

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
I've read about and since regurgitated how a speakers sensivity relates to input power and spl. However, I started wondering today how meaningful a speakers sensitivity rating is. Is it an average across the entire frequency range of the speaker? Or does the sensivity of the speaker not change with varying freqeuncy?

Ie will a speaker's sensitivity be lower with bass frequencies than with higher frequencies or the same for both?

Duncan Barth

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new at this whole speaker building gig, but here's my understanding of it:

A speakers sensitivity will generally vary across its frequency range (electrostatic panels and planer ribbons seem to very a lot less) ... sometimes by quite a bit. The one number you get from the manufacturer is more or less an average.

A good example of this is to go to parts express and look up some of the drivers they sell. They usually have a pdf spec sheet that goes with them, with graphs showing how the parameters vary.

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
A speaker's rated sensitivity is more of a measure of how much SPL it will produce in its "normal" operating frequency range, but you have to take into account the overall frequency response of the total speaker as well. If the speaker is well designed, its frequency response will be +/- 3dB from 40Hz-20KHz (with the bottom octave filled in with a sub or side-firing woofers).

The normal overall sensitivity of the speaker will most likely depend on the midwoofer drivers because they tend to be less sensitive (consume more power), with the tweeters being shelved down with a bit of padding to equalize the sensitivities between the 2 drivers to get that +/- "flat" frequency response. So it's critical to find a well-behaved midwoofer that's reasonably flat in its operating range so you don't have to worry about the varying sensitivity of the overall speaker.