What's new

speaker impedance question... (1 Viewer)

MikeSme

Auditioning
I’m a finish Carpenter by hobby and a Home Theater enthusiast…My question is this…
I’m building a set of custom speakers from solid 1” thick Maple. If I take two 5” 4 ohm drivers and hook them in a series, would this make it an 8 ohm driver, or do I want to hook them in parallel for this? Cause you see…I bought fifteen 5” 4 ohm aluminum mids from MCM, and I’ve got the proper math for the speaker box and unlimited access to a mill shop (woodmeister corp).

Thanks guys…

CalvinCarr

Supporting Actor
You'll want to wire them in parallel. Do a google search on parallel wiring and you'll get all kinds of information.

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor
No you won't. That would halve the load to 2 ohms which will burn up any but the most robust, expensive amps if played loud. Wire them in series for an 8 ohm load.

Rutgar

Second Unit
Wiring two 4 ohm speakers in parallel will give a nominal impedance of only 2 ohms. Which, can burn up a low quality amp very quickly. Series will be 8 ohms.

Speaker building is a complex endeavor. There's far more to it than building a "box", and throwing some speakers into it. I would suggest you check out sites like Madisound and Parts Express. They have books, software, and components, that are essential in building successful DIY speaker enclosures.

-Rutgar

MikeSme

Auditioning
Hey, thanks guys...I have a CAD for building speakers. It takes everything into account, except how to make a 4 ohm driver an 8...! I'll post pics of the speakers when they are done...you guys will be impressed! I even have 3/4" x 8" Cherry planks. I can build things in this shop most people can only dream of. Check out the site...just ad a www and a .com to the name above, some real fancy mill work.

Users who are viewing this thread

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more