1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Speaker Hum from Cable Ground Loop

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Robert Ross, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. Robert Ross

    Robert Ross Agent

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently get speaker hum whenever I connect both my sub and my cable service. As of right now I've just been d/c one when I use the other, but I'd like to get this fixed. Any idea how to get rid of this?
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
  3. Bill_Mis

    Bill_Mis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I connected all of my plugs from amp, receivers, subs to the same power strip and it solved my problem. Mine was caused by cable but the amp was on a different power strip than everything else and so plugging it into the main strip solved my problem.
     
  4. Robert Ross

    Robert Ross Agent

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John: Thanks for the link, I remember seeing that site a while back ago, but couldn't remember where. I ordered the part they reccomended and hope it works.

    Bill: The only thing that isn't connected to the same plug-in is my sub, which is one of the items causing the hum, so that could work, but with the placement of my sub, it's just not really feasible (too far of a distance).
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Good luck [​IMG] I ended up calling my cable company and they eventually came out and fixed my problem. I used a cheap isolation transformer to decouple the cable in the meantime and it worked.
     

Share This Page