What's new

Speaker Calibration?? & SVS homework....... (1 Viewer)

Wil_J

Stunt Coordinator
What is speaker calibration? Why is it important? What does it do?
I keep hearing about calibrating to -10db or +5db, etc. WHAT IS IT?
As you no doubt have guessed, I'm still new to this crazy addiction and don't know very much. Help?????
One more question for all you SVS owners out there.
My living room is 18' x 16' x 8'. What SVS sub would give substantial (but not too overpowering) bass to a living room with those dimensions?
I don't have the money yet, but I want to do my homework now so I know what I should be saving for. Help anyone???
Thanks in advance......Wil
------------------
"The rose petal floats on water,
the kingfisher flashes above the pond.
Life and beauty swirl in the midst of death."

al'Lan Mandragoran,
*******The Wheel of Time

Wil_J

Stunt Coordinator
*bump* A little help here guys?.......Wil
------------------

al'Lan Mandragoran,
*******The Wheel of Time

Ron Stimpson

Stunt Coordinator
Wil,
In the old days you could just adjust your stereo's balance to get that image right in the middle.
Well no longer. Try to do that with 6 channels! (That's left, right, center, left rear, right rear, left rear, and subwoofer). You just can't do it. And if you don't the great realism on Dobly Digial and DTS soundtracks (on DVD typically but HDTV and laserdisk too) can be wrecked.
All today's home theater receivers have test tones built in (and you can get special disks that do that same) to allow you to use a simple Sound Pressure Level (SPL) meter to adjust each channel so they are balanced. SPL is measured in "decibels" (dB) a measure of sound.
When you adjust the subwoofer (depending on the sub!) you can even dial in a bit more level to allow more massive explosions.