Speaker Building Questions.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Bosch, Dec 14, 2002.

1. Jason Bosch

Jason Bosch Agent

Hi everyone. I'm new to this kind of thing so I had a few questions. I apologize if they are asked all the time and I didn't find them when I searched.
    1. I'm curious if guys think it would be possible to make a speaker system similar to the old Polk SRT system. here's a link. Polk SRT System I'm sure I could build cabinets similar to them. The 2 problems I would have is finding drivers and actually designing the box to make them sound great. And getting the crossovers to mate perfectly with them. The originals had kind of a cascading crossover in that certain drivers would reproduce only certain frequencies. Anyways I know this one is alittle far fetched... I just wanted to get some of your opinions.
    2. I was wondering if it were possible to build something as good as say a Vienna Acoustics speaker like the Beethoven or Bach. From what i've seen most people here make thier speakers out of MDF. Can you use true wood like Oak or Cherry? This same question I have in regards to the subwoofer. I'd like to make something similar to a REL. I love the look of real furniture grade wood. Also do any of you know where to find great silk dome tweeters? I love the smooth, warm non fatiguing sound of silk vs. metal domes. Are there any other dealers for great equipment for building speakers besides Parts Expess?
    Thanks in advance for replies.

2. Greg Monfort

Greg Monfort Supporting Actor

>1. I'm curious if guys think it would be possible to make a speaker system similar to the old Polk SRT system.
    ====
    With enough experience and the proper measuring tools you could do it and have it sound good, but you can probably buy them used for less than the cost of Lspcad pro and a TEF machine (or equal). Then there's the steep learning curve and component prices..... The XOs alone would set you back hundreds.