What's new

Spade Connectors and Yamaha HTR-5460 (1 Viewer)

Neeraj

Grip
Hi:
I am a newbie and have a simple question (I think!!). I would greatly appreciate any help that you guys can give.
I just got a Yamaha 5460 and wanted to connect spade connectors to it. However, it seems as though there isn't enough space in the binding posts of the reciver to be able to take spade connectors (I haven't tried this yet - I am just assuming)- looks like bare wire should slide in relatively easily but the spade connectors seem kind of wide. Specifically, the connectors that I was looking at were these:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshow...number=091-315
The Yamaha wesite seems to say that this can be done but the manual does not mention spades at all (only banana jacks and bare wire). So I was just wondering if anybody has done this successfully on a 5460 (or similar receiver) so that I can go ahead and order these. I would hate to get them if they don't fit (I know its not a lot of money but I am trying to make every buck count).
Again, any responses would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Nerraj. Welcome to HTF! :)
Yes, the binding posts on Yamaha receivers are considered "5-way" and spade connectors are one of the 5.
But ... there is not a "standard" for the post size and some spades are extra-wide and dont fit.
Personally, I prefer banana plugs. The grouping of the binding posts on my Yamaha units are so tight that I would be afraid of how much trouble it would be to wire things up and not interfear with the other plugs. Going straight out of the posts with banana plugs is much easier.
I like the Radio Shack xxx-308 compression style banana plugs for behind the receiver. They also sell similar pin plugs. You might stop by a local store and see if they have spades similar to the Parts Express units, if you are really stuck on spade connectors. Go buy one set of spades, run to your local stereo store and give em a try.
Good Luck.

Neeraj