Southeast Michigan Comcast just picked up FOX Digital Station

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Diallo B, Sep 5, 2003.

  1. Diallo B

    Diallo B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the SE Mich. folks,

    Check out channel 183 for FOX's enhanced definition television.

    (Still waiting on the INHD preview before the 9/15 kickoff)

    djb
     
  2. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,325
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    I noticed this last night. Now, if they will finally add CBS, I can sell my Samsung SIR-T151 tuner.
     
  3. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me ask you guys...

    I've been considering going digital for HD and ED. However, when I called Comcast, since I only subscribe currently to limited analog service and cable modem, they were saying my bill would go from ~$55-60/month to over $100/month for service...

    Is this for real? How can it be worth over $100/month for internet/TV?
     
  4. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    probably because they require you to buy the whole "digital" tier, which means all basic channels
     
  5. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,325
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
     
  6. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet...

    Thanks for the info Scott. Would you happen to know Greta's extension, or should I just call and ask for her? Day or evening hours?
     
  7. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,325
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Andrew,

    I just called the toll-free customer support number. When the drone insisted that I had to upgrade to digital cable service, I just asked for Greta and was transferred. A co-worker called the same toll free number last Friday and just asked for her. His installation is scheduled for tomorrow. Both of us called during the day.
     
  8. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1-888-COMCAST ?

    Maybe I'll try to give a call.
     
  9. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,325
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    The number I called was 800-707-7501. It was on a mailing I received from Comcast. Both numbers may go to the same call center, though.
     
  10. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm.... Scott, could you possibly come up with her extension? I called and asked for her, but they would not transfer me without her extension number...
     
  11. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,325
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Andrew, unfortunately I do not have a direct extension for her. I reached her through the toll free number in my other post. The person I spoke with put me right through, and my co-worker had no problem getting her that way, either.
     
  12. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the guy I talked to couldn't (wouldn't?) transfer me. He stressed that I would get only local channels without upgrading my service, and tried to sell me on one of the digital plans.
     
  13. Hank_P

    Hank_P Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I'm not that far away and have Comcast digital cable but get CBS digital and not ABC. I'm in the same boat, if I could get Fox and ABC, I'd sell my T165. I am getting the INHD though, and when they were showing the US Open in HD, it was spectacular. I was paying a little more for basic + extended and broadband, with the addition of digital, my bill will be close to $100.

    173 ESPN HD
    174 IN HD
    181 NBC HD
    182 CBS HD
    191 PBS HD
     
  14. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    12,325
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
     
  15. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Scott,

    OK... I finally got someone who would just schedule the appointment to install without the upgrade. The came out today, and it appeared to be working fine when they left. Now all my stations are blank. I called Comcast, and they said that HD is an upgrade to digital, and so I am getting no signal. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I said that is not what I was told before. He apologized, but said that I must get digital to use the HDTV service. Any suggestions? Or am I going to have to pay that additional $40/month now just to use the damn box they just installed?!?
     
  16. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally got someone helpful on the phone from Comcast who again confirmed that I did not need digital for HD service. She tried to send a signla to my HD box to get it working, but it did not work. She said there must be some filter on our line preventing it from working, and set up an appointment for someone to come out Tuesday afternoon to fix it.

    Well, I think I figured out what happened...

    After they installed the HD box, they said that someone else would be coming by to "fix" a problem on the pole relative to the "weak signal" in our house. We left to run some errands. When we returned, the gate to our yard was closed, so they must have been here. They also left a metal cover to some sort of box in our yard.

    Well, they "fixed" it all right. Apparently they put on a filter that prevents the HD box from working at all. Now I have to wait until Tuesday afternoon for them to return and fix their mess up.
     

Share This Page