Soundblaster and DVD player

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David.Wein, Dec 27, 2002.

1. David.Wein

David.Wein Auditioning

Newbie here...

Got a new Samsung DVD-2000 and the LOTR extended version. Am playing dvd into older RCA tv with RCA jacks - but not much else. Wanted to get to 5.1 sound. I have a rather small room and wanted to avoid purchasing a receiver - I hoped I could just attach speakers somehow. Was led to believe by a salesman that I could use the Creative 5.1 soundblaster speakers with adapters from Radio Shack.

I did get adapters that take the stereo sound card plugs to two RCA plug ends. But I see no way to attach them to the DVD. There are audio outputs, of course, but they sure don't seem to expect 6 (or 5?) RCA plugs - but are designed to connect to a receiver.

So should I take the speakers back - and live with my tinny stereo on the TV until I get the financial fortitude to buy a receiver and speakers. Is there no way to use these computer speakers with a DVD player?

2. Nick A. G.

Nick A. G. Auditioning

The 5.1 capabilities on newer sound cards are intended to be used with DVD-ROM drives. The 5.1 Sound Blaster cards are only equipped with outputs for 5.1 (no inputs).

Those outputs are actually designed for "5.1-ready" PC speaker systems. They actually have the jacks in the back of them for front, rear, and center/sub. Using that standalone DVD player of yours won't help any. I would stick with simply using the DVD-ROM. You can pick up a 5.1-ready PC speaker system starting at around $200 or so. On the other hand, you can save for a bit longer and get a receiver and speakers which would be the best long-run decision (better quality and far more flexibility).