What's new

Sound System Recommendations (1 Viewer)

Mikey_K

Auditioning
I just purchased a new Tosh 50h81 TheaterWide television and Tosh 4800 pro-scan DVD player, and in the next few months I'll be looking to purchase a sweet little 5.1 surround sound system to connect.

I'm a relative newbie, though. I'm wondering what you might recommend in the way of receivers and speaker systems. I'll probably be shopping in the $800ish price range. Thanks

Frank Zimkas

Supporting Actor
Take a look at the Polk audio RM series. Great sound considering the size and they'll fit into your budget.

BryanZ

Screenwriter
Is that $800 for everything or $800 for the receiver, $800 for the speakers, and $800 for the sub? What size room do you have?

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Well I'll throw out a DIY option that should fit the budget. If you can build the enclosures yourself, what can done will be tough to beat for the price.
First you'd build 5 of these (should be able to build all 5 for under $300):
http://www.partsexpress.com/projectshowcase/dht/
For the sub you either get the $100 DLS sub linked to in that article. Or you check PE regularly for when the PE 300-794 amp and Dayton DVC12" are on sale (happens fairly regularly) and also get a 4" flared port kit. On sale you should be able to get all 3 items for less than $200. Then add another $50-75 for building materials and you have a sub that will stomp on any commercial offering at the $300 price point.
Then buy something like a Denon 1802 for the receiver and you are done.
If DIY isn't an option, then a Denon 1802 or something similar, the JBL NPS1 and the DLS10" sub would be my recommendation on that budget.

Clint Roberts

Auditioning