Sound skipping w/ DTS and my components- need help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Ilya, Jul 4, 2003.

  1. Ilya

    Ilya Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My audio skips on a regular basis when watching DVDs in DTS. I use a Rotel RSP-976 preamp and Panasonic RP-62 DVD player. I narrowed it down to my front channels and size setting. If set to Large, I get no audio skip in DTS. However, when I set them to small (which is what I want to do), it happens. I found some other threads about an Onkyo that had this problem. Unfortunately, the Rotel has no Re-EQ and minimal options. There is nothing I have found to change that fixes this problem. It seems like a compatibility issue between tyhe player and preamp... as I NEVER had any skips with an old Phillips DVD player and this Rotel.

    Is anyone familiar with this player and/or preamp that can help? I checked every setting and this is it. Unless I set my mains to Large, it skips in DTS. It's ashame as this Panny got such great reviews which is why I bought it. For those who have a Rotel 976, which DVD player do you use? I don't mind swapping players (the panny was only $100 or so) to get rid of this problem. I just want to buy a model with excellent video and sound quality (progressive) and none of these DTS issues. I guess I could buy the Rotel player which I assume would work properly with it's own brand, but I'm not ready to drop a grand on a dvd player. I just want a quality budget player like the Panny w/o these DTS problems. I tried a Pioneer Elite model (one of the lower end approx. $400) once and it had so many damn video bugs I returned it the next day.
     
  2. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you lower the volume appreciably, does the skipping still occur?
     
  3. Ilya

    Ilya Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it happens at even very low volumes. Unfortunatelty, I've narrowed it down to the Rotel today. I tried it with two other dvd players (JVC and Sony) and it still happens. Looks like I will be giving Rotel a call to get this fixed. Although this is my second RSP-976, this one is only a 30-60 days old. It must have had the issue from the beginning. The Center was always shrill on DTS and even had a high pitched noise in the background during certain passages. I've been trying anything and everything to get rid of it, thinking it was something else. Now that I received my subs this weekend and set my Mains to Small, the skipping started on DTS. I guess there must be something wrong with the DTS decoding on this unit. I hope I don't have to wait forever to get it fixed.
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    What type of connection do you have between the DVD player and the preamp?

    People have sometimes used a audio cable instead of a video cable for the coaxial-digital connection from a DVD player. It appears to work, ut there are drop-outs in the sound every few minutes. If you are using a coaxial-digital connection, check the color-code on the wire. You want it to be Yellow for a video cable, and not Red/Black/Blue for an audio cable.
     
  5. Ilya

    Ilya Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using an Optical audio cable, not the Coaxial. I checked that as well and it states it's for audio on the side.

    I am going to try and take it into the dealer today. Maybe they can hook it up and I can test there w/ a completely different set of components. I want to make sure it's the preamp before sending in for repair. Since it was a store demo, it didn't come with one of those registration cards (or manual for that matter). Hopefully Rotel doesn't screw me over in this regards and honors the warranty since I have receipt and purchased from auth dealer.
     
  6. Mark C.

    Mark C. Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 21, 1999
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ilya:

    If it is the pre/pro, don't worry: Rotel will take care of you demo or not.
     
  7. Brian R

    Brian R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ilya:

    Mark is right, Rotel will definately take care of you.

    I had the same problem with my RTC-965 I got off eBay several months ago. I had planned on taking it in to the local dealer to have it checked out, but before I did I emailed Rotel. I told them I had just bought it, I even mentioned it was used and I got it off eBay, I explained the problem and asked if this was a known problem or if mine was an exception. Rotel's warranty is nontransferable, so I was expecting to pay for any repairs. Well, to my surprise they emailed me back the the next day with a return authorization number, the address to send it to, and best of all they covered it under the warranty. I shipped it to them and they had it back to me in less than 2 weeks with a new DTS decoder, they also completely checked it out for any other problems and replaced a fuse that was blown for the switched power outlets on the back.

    If you want, I can give you the email address of the person I dealt with at Rotel.

    Best of Luck,

    Brian
     
  8. Ilya

    Ilya Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot guys. My dealer said I could bring it there and they will ship it for me and have it taken care of. I'm delaying as I just got my subs this weekend and am having such a good time with them. I'll probably bring it in next week. Thanks again. Looking forward to getting it back in working order.
     
  9. Wes

    Wes Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1997
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah USA
    Real Name:
    Wes Peterson
    Onkyo had a problem a while back with running Re-EQ and dts at the same time, if the Rotel has Re-EQ you might try switching it off!

    Wes
     

Share This Page