sound proofing

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by brad hess, Aug 24, 2004.

1. brad hess

brad hess Auditioning

hi
    i'm new to home theater, but I have been around car audio for a long time. in cars for sound proofing i have used dynamat for vibration control and dynaliner for resonence control.
    I am now researching sound proofing a HT room and would like to get some opinions on some different products.
    the room will be 30lx15wx14h. total surface area should be around 1320s.f. give or take a little.
    As i have been surfing this forum i have come across the company Acoustiblok. i went to there site and it looks like very good stuff. i emailed Acoustiblok and got a wholesale price list and it was expensive.
    Then i was searching google for sound deading productds and came across soundprooffoam dot com and it has a simalar product Vinyl Barrier for almost half the price RETAIL.
    My questione aer:
    - Are all loaded vinyls made equal?
    - Are there any that are better than others.
    - Has any body used both and noticed a differance?
    - Is the price of that differance worth it

2. MarkRoberts

MarkRoberts Stunt Coordinator

If you do a search here you will find several diy room treatment projects. If you don't mind doing a little work you can save yourself some money. Room treatments are aimed at "high-end" installs where money is rarely a concern so the cost is way higher than what is resonable. It's kinda like Transparent cables. They have 8ft pairs of speaker wire that cost 15k [​IMG] , do think it will really make a 15k improvement?
    Now room treatments I do believe will make a significant improvement but are those companies really doing something "special". I have a hard time believing that there is some "magic" material out there. I would go the diy route. You should find diy bass traps and sound panels if you do a search. If you can't find them just let me know I have some links to some somewhere...[​IMG]

3. ThomasW