What's new

Sound Problem (1 Viewer)

Donn K

Auditioning
Alright, I'm not sure if this should go here or in hardware as I am somewhat new to all of this. Anyways, I am having an issue with what I am guessing is my receiver. I have a Pioneer VSX-D814, hooked up to that are two Wharfedale Valdus 500s and the Valdus Center. When I have it set to Tuner, the speakers sound great at about -75 to -70. But If I have it set on TV/SAT, DVD, AUX(PS2); I have to have it cranked up to -20 to get any real amount of sound out. And at that level the speakers hiss pretty bad and I can barely hear anything out of the Center. Now since they sound great while listening to the radio, I am assuming that there is something I need to do to the receiver. I've read the manual front to back about 5 times, and messed with the thing more then I care to remember. So what should I be trying to do here?

John S

Senior HTF Member
Calibration of audio is your best bet. This means running test tones and matching the levels on all channels. You can run the channels a little hot, it may help.

Different levels between different sources and even content is normal though, so hard to say if this is normal or not.

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
Welcome to the forum. It would also be helpful if you posted how your components were connected. The tuner obviously has no connection to the receiver, while all of those other sources do. My bet is you have something connected incorrectly. Those sources should all be connected via digital inputs, either digital coaxial or digital optical, to the extent you have them available with that model receiver. With the digital connections, the audio outputs on all those devices should be set to bitstream and not pcm.

Donn K

Auditioning