1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Sound not sounding too good!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Darci Hellauer, Aug 14, 2001.

1. Darci Hellauer

Darci Hellauer Auditioning

I have just recently purchased a suround sound system (speakers and receiver)and the sound just isn't that great. I'm not getting much bass. I have my subwoofer connected directly to the receiver and speakers set as "small". All I seem to hear is the subwoofer bass and no other? Is that right? Should I not have my receiver turned to surround when playing music? One other thing is I did not use the digital cabling to connect the dvd and cd player. Would that have something to do with it? I did use the S video connections, though. As you can see I'm BRAND NEW to this Home Theater "stuff".
    Thanks,
    Darci

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    Welcome! [​IMG]
    I would recommend using the digital connection to pass the signal to the receiver. It is the simplest hook up and will pass the highest quality signal. By using the digital hook up, you also allow the receiver to do all the decoding which should give you sound no matter what format the recording is.
    Try switching "modes" to see if you get sound, i.e; look for a 2ch stereo mode.
    Since you are getting sound from the sub, I'd say you are somewhat hooked up already, though if the signal for the rest of the speakers is not hooked up (digital or analog), then you will not get any other sound.
    If this is from a DVD player, you typically have to configure the DVD to send the digital signal, or you will also not get any sound, though I would expect that is not the problem since your sub is working.
    S-video will not pass any sound.
    ------------------
    All progress is based upon a universal, innate desire on the part of every organism,