What's new

Sound Level on Home Theater (1 Viewer)

Eric Taylor

Agent
Can someone please explain to me in laymans terms how to understand what the Dolby Reference Level for my Home Theater should be. I have a RCA Home Theater in a Box system and the volume goes from 00db up to 120db. I usually have it set around the 55db to 65db range when watching DVD's and around 25 to 30db's when watching tv.

I recently bought a Rat Shack SPL Meter, but I don't have a calibration dvd as of yet. I am using the tones on my receiver to set it up for right now. What should I have my master volume set too to set the speakers up? I used 75db but have read all kinds of different settings and cannot figure out where to have the master volume set so I can get my speakers to 75db on the meter. Any help on this would be very very very appreciated. Thanks guys.

Mark Hobbs

Stunt Coordinator
Once you get a calibration disk, you can calibrate so that "reference" level is whatever you want it to be on your receiver. The AVIA disk is set up so that using their test tones, you put your receiver's volume on what you want "reference" to be, then adjust each speaker until the output from the AVIA disk equals 85db on your SPL meter.

I understand the VE disk uses 75db. Either way, once you are finished, your receiver should be at reference volume when it is turned to that setting. I use 0 as ref, since my receiver goes from -60 to +18. I actually listen at about -20. In your case, you might want to use 75 or 85. It doesn't matter, just remember that whatever you use is "reference" level for you.

I'm not sure how you would set reference level using your receiver's test tones. I would suggest using the AVIA disk, since receiver tones can be incorrect.

Eric Taylor

Agent