Sony WEGA tv problem. I have sound but no picture :(

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by todd stone, Jun 15, 2002.

  1. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    My fathers TV is just having SOUND come up without a picture. I tried troubleshooting him over the phone but it's a bit hard to do so.

    I told him to click the VIDEO button amongst a few other things, but not even the green video 1 etc logo pops on the screen, its just blank with no picture, but you can hear the TV show.

    DVD movies also dont' appear on the screen.


    Think the TV is busted? It's a few month old 42" WEGA XBR etc..

    What should he do?
     
  2. Peter Hunt

    Peter Hunt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if this is of any help at all but I had a first gen 32" Wega and had the exact same troubles just after getting it. In my cause something had to be resaudered
     
  3. StevenB

    StevenB Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy,
    Does he have an A/V receiver hooked up? What I mean is, if he has a receiver hooked up through an aux cable feed, it is possible to get the sound from the TV through the speakers (AUX setting) and not have the TV on. Just an idea.....
    Steve
     
  4. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i mean he his trying to turn the tv ON, on the remote AND through the tv.
     
  5. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Did he report any unusual noises when trying to turn it on? A loud popping noise for instance?

    This could be a loose connection, as suggested. Or something much worse.
     
  6. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sonys generally have a 'factory reset' condition, just unplug the TV from the outlet for~ 15 minutes.
    It will reset to the nominal.I have fixed a few sonys this way
    If that doesn't do it ....repair center
    Good luck
    Grant
     
  7. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I called my father again today to see the status.

    I told him to leave it unplugged over night and plug it in again in morning, no go.....

    So he called Sony and they gave him some #'s to call tomorrow during weekday.

    Sony stated this is a known problem and they have gotten numerous calls on it.

    UGG! Still under warranty tho.
     
  8. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the tv repairman came and checked out the TV and opened it up. It turns out a faulty board was the problem. they took the TV and said Sony is pretty good with getting parts shipped to them so my Dad should have the TV back in about a week.
     

Share This Page