Sony WEGA auto-16:9 squeeze?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kieran Coghlan, Aug 22, 2001.

  1. Kieran Coghlan

    Kieran Coghlan Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1998
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just read in another thread that WEGA sets that do the "anamorphic squeeze" will do it automatically, in s-video mode. Is this true? Does one need to do anything special to set it up? Is it true of non-XBR WEGA sets? I just installed and set up a 36" WEGA and Panasonic dv-rv31 dvd player for some friends. Their WEGA is either the kv-36fv16 or the kv-36fs16, I think (can't remember the exact model.)
    Any info would be appreciated!
    ------------------
    -Kieran
    My HT Page
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    This probably should have been asked in the TV/Projector's forum, but yes, the non-XBR WEGAS will do it. The -16 & -17, as well as the -26 and -27 will all to it automatically, it is merely a setting in the menu. The -12 and -13 will do it alos, but not automatically.
    ------------------
    All progress is based upon a universal, innate desire on the part of every organism,
    to live beyond it's income.
    ITRCA ** Speedring (sorry, car guy)
     
  3. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Steven Simon
    MOved to Tv and Projector Area.....
    ------------------
    Thanks,
    Steven R. Simon
    HTF Administrator
    Theater Pics Updated 7-26-2001
    Send Email: [email protected]
     
  4. Doug_L

    Doug_L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not all the Wegas will do this automatically. I recently purchased an FV16 for my father, and it does the squeeze with a menu adjustment (note: that's the consumer menu, not service).
    I can't really keep them straight, but I am fairly certain that the -26 and -27 do the auto squeeze, and the -16 and - 17 have it as a menu adjustment (the right most tab on the menu screen, and the toggle is at the bottom of that pulldown).
    I may be wrong about the specific models that do the squeeze automatically, but at least for last year's models they were not all auto.
    Good luck.
     
  5. MarshawnM

    MarshawnM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys,
    Only the XBR's do the “unsqueeze” automatically. On the non-XBR models you have to go into menu and set the16:9 mode to "ON", the other option is "OFF". On the XBR's the choices are "ON" and "AUTO", "OFF" is not option. One the non-XBR’s, if you leave 16:9 enhance mode set to "ON" and switch to another input source (like your cable), it will continue to "unsqueeze" the picture, which distorts it. The XBR's models have digital tuners, so they can read the 16:9 flag in the bit stream and switch to the 16:9 enhance mode automatically, which does the unsqueezing. Also, since you can’t pass 16:9 bit stream though analog inputs (S-video, RCA red, white and yellow jacks), the 16:9 enhance mode only works on your two component inputs on the XBR models. So, on the XBR models, if you watching a DVD in 16:9 enhance mode, and switch to your cable input source, the cable picture will not be in 16:9, it will be in good old 4:3. The non-XBR's are analog and they do not recognize the 16:9 flag in the bit stream, and so they do not automatically switch to the 16:9 mode. I hope this helps.
    Marshawn
     
  6. James Eftekari

    James Eftekari Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually my 32FV27 just arrived this morning ( its the replacement model of the FV26) and it does do the 16:9 squeeze automatically, I have my dvd player to 16:9 out and when I switch to video 4 the picture is automatically squeezed.
     
  7. MarshawnM

    MarshawnM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    James,
    What is the 16:9 enhance mode set to? ON, OFF or do the new modes have an AUTO setting? I think it may be that Sony has changed the ability to have 16:9 enhance mode enabled on inputs other than component (like the XBR'S). On my XBR, I can't enable 16:9 enhance mode on inputs other than component.
     
  8. MarshawnM

    MarshawnM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    James,
    I bet 16:9 enhance mode is set to "ON" and there is no "AUTO" setting for your model.
     
  9. ThomasL

    ThomasL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. ThomasL

    ThomasL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. Brian Harnish

    Brian Harnish Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the 16x9 squeeze mode set to AUTO on my WEGA KV-32FV27. Works great! Cable (and other inputs) is 4x3 while the component input is 16x9. The DVD picture, of course, is gorgeous.
    ------------------
    - Brian
    My DVD Collection
    Want Sliders on DVD? Then please SIGN the petition!
     
  12. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To reiterate, the FV26/27 WEGAs also do the squeeze automatically.
    James: I am very curious, and if I may be so bold, why did you replace your KV-32FV26 with a KV-32FV27?
    Everybody: I bought my KV-32FV26 about five months ago. And here we are at the end of summer, and I am already seeing Toshiba 40H80 RPTVs on sale for just $1,600. My 32FV26 was purchased strictly as a transitional set, with the intention of rotating it over to bedroom duty after I get an ATSC-based set next year. Should I have held out, I wonder? I didn't expect good digital sets to start plummeting in price so soon. Damn.
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
     
  13. James Eftekari

    James Eftekari Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh no, I was just saying that the FV27 is this years replacement of last years FV26. The FV27 is my first Wega tv set.
     
  14. Doug_L

    Doug_L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Marshawn,
    I'm not so sure that you were right when you wrote:
     
  15. John_Robinson

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Marshawn's posting contains some confusing (and possibly incorrect) information. First, I think that s/he means "squeeze" when s/he says "unsqueeze". Also, you don't have to use the component inputs for the TV to recognize the squeeze signal -- my DVD player is plugged into my 32XBR400 through the S-video input, and the auto-squeeze works like a champ.
    ------------------
    John Robinson
    "E=mc^2 (+/- 3dB)"
     
  16. Brent Phillips

    Brent Phillips Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just purchased a Sony XBR700 and it is suppose to auto squeeze anamorphic DVD's. But I have to select it manually by setting 16:9 Enchanced to ON in the settings menu. I'm using an Apex AD-600A connected using a S-Video cable. The manual states that the only requirement is that the device be connected to a video connection. I'm using video input 4.

    Anyone know of a fix for this problem? Everytime I switch inputs, it resets it back to auto and I have to set it to on again.
     
  17. Marc Rochkind

    Marc Rochkind Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And one more quibble with MarshawnM's post... the component video inputs are ANALOG, not digital. But, if he/she says there is somehow a flag there, then I believe it. This also explains why on some TVs it will work with S-video.

    Also... it should be mentioned that on some Sonys I have heard that vertical compression does not work on progressive inputs. This is perhaps BECAUSE it is automatic... perhaps in that case it can't get the flag. Maybe on these TV it does work if you force it manually, assuming you can. I don't have such a TV to try it out.
     

Share This Page