Sony Tivos -- Recording quality?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brian Harnish, Jan 10, 2002.

1. Brian Harnish

Brian Harnish Screenwriter

How is the recording quality on Sony's Tivo's? For example, is it VHS quality or better than VHS quality (which I'm hoping it is)? How much can I expect to spend on a good to great-quality Tivo? What are the standard features that I should look for when buying a Tivo? Can they output to tape or other recording format? Do I need a subscription service in order to activate the Tivo or can I record from any cable/satellite source?
    Please forgive all the questions. I'm new to the Tivo thing. [​IMG]

2. Mark_E_Smith

Mark_E_Smith Second Unit

There are 2 types of TiVos
    Standalone TiVos which can record from various sources ie cable, sat,and off the air. These are sold as Philips and Sony. These type of TiVos you can select the recording quality from
    1) slightly less than VHS, Basic
    2) to better than VHS, Medium
    3) near Digital sat, High
    4) near DVD, Best
    Each setting has different memory requirements, the higher the quality the more memory is required. Standalones recording time is based on the lowest quality.
    With Standalones you can only record one channel at a time, but you can watch something that is allready recorded while it is recording a show. This unit passes stereo but has some problems with surround.