Sony TA-E9000ES "Virtual Matrix 6.1"

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by RichardMA, May 26, 2002.

  1. RichardMA

    RichardMA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This mode is plagued by the same thing that many DSP
    modes are; A hollow-echoey sound that IMO, is one reason
    theaters sound far worse than home theater. But, thats
    when it's used on DVDs. Used on analog television broadcasts, the echo is not there. It actually sounds good.
    Go figure.
     
  2. Jim_F

    Jim_F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use it only for 6.1 soundtracks. Sounds great to me.
     
  3. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the TA-E9000ES. But I have also added a Dolby Pro Logic processor to actually get a real 6th (rear center)channel. "Virtual 6.1" is good, but the real thing is better! [​IMG]
     
  4. RichardMA

    RichardMA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried using a Rotel RSP-960 Pro-Logic processor
    with the Sony to derive the 6th channel, but I found
    I could not generate enough output to power the power
    amps. The volumes were cranked right up. I used the
    L-R surround outputs from the Sony and ran them into
    the Rotel's "main in" and used the centre out on the Rotel.
    I also used other inputs like "Tape" "LD" but they were
    even less "powerful" than the "main ins."
     
  5. Glenn Marshall

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Richard

    I thought the same thing, when I first tried the Virtual-6
    mode, but after adjusting the center & rear channels, I
    found it very listenable. I had to set the center to -5
    and the rears to -7 and then up the master volume. It
    also depends on how the CD was recorded (Dolby, etc.)

    Glenn
     
  6. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Richard- I have personally used the following DPL processors to add a 6th channel to my system:
    Sony SDP-E800
    Sony SDP-777ES
    Yamaha DSR-70Pro
    Yamaha DSR-100Pro
    Pioneer SP-91D
    Shure HTS-5300
    And they all worked. Never tried the Rotel though! [​IMG]
     
  7. RichardMA

    RichardMA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kevin, I'm going to have to try again. Yours all worked
    and I assume you simply use the L-R surround out to
    the Pro-logic processor and then used it's centre output
    for your rear centre?
    Thanks
     
  8. Brian Kleinke

    Brian Kleinke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 1999
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have the TA-E9000ES, and have never noticed any problems when I use the Virtual Matrix 6.1 I'm not willing to add any more speakers to my system unless I move, for I just don't have the floor or wallspace to do it [​IMG]
    Brian
     
  9. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Richard- Yuppers. And I tried 2 different ways (but not with all the units):

    a) Feed the 2 surround channels line level connections to the DPL processor (main in, or CD or VCR input) and use the resulting L, C, R outputs from the processor to power your L, C, R rear speakers (with amplification, of course).

    b) Same as (a), but use y connectors on the outputs from the Sony. 1/2 of each Y goes to the L & R rears (as in a normal 5.1 system), and the other half goes to the DPL processor, and then I *only* use the C channel from the processor.

    2 tricks, I crank up the outputs on the Sony to +7.5 dB (but this isn't necessary), and you do have to crank up the volume on the DPL processor to maybe the 1/2 to 3/4 point.

    Also, at least one of those units, had an input sensitivity switch on the back. 0 or -10 dbf (or something). 0 I think is meant for true line level signals, whereas the -10 is meant for pre out inputs.

    Maybe the Rotel just wasn't sensitive enough...
     

Share This Page