What's new

Sony STR-DE885 vs. Pioneer VSX-D811S (1 Viewer)

Bozie E.

Auditioning
Hi,

I'm new to the forum. I am also fairly new to HT. I am looking to purchase a new receiver. I have done a large amount of research through the forums and elsewhere. I have narrowed down my selections to the Sony STR-DE885 and the Pioneer VSX-D811S. They are the around the same price and have basically the same features. I am interested to see if anyone has any suggestions on the better model. Also, the Pioneer has DTS-ES and neo:6, while the Sony does not. Are these formats worthwhile, or are they just bells & whistles at this point? Thanks for any help.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Don't waste your time with the Sony DE line.

I was not completely impressed with the 41Tx (same as the 811) for music. It seems decently powered, and I would have no question about going with it over the Sony.

What you didn't mention is what your budget is, so that recommendations can be made.

Chris S

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chris S
I would have to agree with everyone here. At least to my ears the Pioneer is much better than the Sony. Most likely you should be able to find a store to do some A/B testing with these models.

Chris S.

Bill Will

Screenwriter
Also don't rule out the Panasonic SA-HE100 which has been getting some great reviews & can be had online for around $250 delivered. I agree, stay away from the Sony DE line.

Bozie E.

Auditioning
I guess I don't understand why the Sony DE line is so bad. My main factors are reliability (I don't want a unit that will die in two months) and ease of use. I'm not a super audiophile and I probably won't be using awesome speakers until I get more money.

Thanks to all the people who have already responded. But, I really want to know more than Sony=bad. WHY does Sony=bad?

Steve Adams

Second Unit