Sony STR-DA5ES Transformation

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gerard Martin, May 11, 2002.

  1. Gerard Martin

    Gerard Martin Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Recently I asked your help in trying

    to correct a problem I was having with

    loss of ability to select PLII movie/music Neo6, my only option now is PRO LOGIC whereas the surround screen for the DA5ES should show

    2CH Decoding

    2CH Mode

    C WIDTH and so on. My surround

    screen now starts with PRO LOGIC.

    2CH Decoding and 2CH Mode are strictly

    for the DA5ES and PRO LOGIC strictly

    for the DA3ES. Additionally my receiver

    no longer displays 6.1 discrete another

    DA5ES only. In effect my DA5ES thinks

    its a DA3ES. Any solution to correct this. I have cleared the receivers memory, unplugged the receiver overnight, called Sony, Emailed Sony

    no response, took the set into a local

    authorized Sony service center and was

    told there is a decoding or programming

    problem but did not know how to correct it. The set is 45 days old so can,t take it back to the dealer, my only option

    appears to be a regional Sony Service Center I don,t want to use unless absolutely necessary. Any ideas. Your

    reply sincerely appreciated.
     
  2. Warren_Sc

    Warren_Sc Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you try this: Sony DA5ES: DPLII Movie for TV and DPLII Music for CD! Plus other tweaks
    I would not use the remote to set this up. In fact, maybe you should pull the batteries on the remote for a while. On the reciever menu, choose "normal surround" and then use the arrows and dial on the right to see what options come up. Make sure your digital connections are tight, too.
    In the thread above I remember not being able to select DPLII Movie when I used the "normal surround" instead of "Cinema B".
    Hope this helps,
     
  3. Gerard Martin

    Gerard Martin Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Warren

    I did all that, does anyone have other

    than clearing memory a button reset

    sequence to return this to a DA5ES. Perhaps something like a Sony secret

    code that based on my experience with

    Sony even Sony don,t know. Thanks.
     
  4. Warren_Sc

    Warren_Sc Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would go back to the dealer and complain. The dealer should handle this for you, in my opinion. If not, buy a new one there and swap the broken one.

    Sounds aggrivating...
     
  5. Gerard Martin

    Gerard Martin Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Warren

    The set is no longer in the dealers

    allowable return period, however I did touch base with him and he told me my best bet was to send it off to Sonys Service Center which I will do tomorrow. Unfortunately its in PA and I,am in FL.

    However I do have backup a

    Yamaha 7.1, Onkyo 7.1 and Marantz SR19

    to carry me over. Thanks for your assistance.
     

Share This Page