Sony recievers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Junie, Mar 29, 2002.

1. Junie

Junie Agent

What is wrong with Sony recievers? They are hardly ever mentioned on the forum. Are they crap? poor quality? I own a STR945 and it seems to be working fine. However I'm new to HT and have not demoed many recievers to compare. Please tell me what the deal is regarding this brand.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    PEACE!!!

2. ColinM

ColinM Cinematographer

I had an STR-DE915 (100x5, DD only, no dts) for a couple of years and I thought it was fine. Then I lost the rear channels. Got it fixed. They went out again. Fixed again. Then the sub started humming along by itself and that was it. Goodbye!

I replaced it with an HK AVR110. On paper, the Sony had 300 more total watts, a ton more DSP's, etc.

The HK is light years ahead of that Sony as far as sound quality goes. Sony's DSP's are terrible (my opinion). HK's build is far better. Tons of things seperate the two. I paid $400 for that Sony in 1997. The HK was $300 6 months ago.

Bottom line - Sony CAN make good gear. They make some fantastic pieces. But they also make some inexpensive stuff. You get what you pay for. A $300 AVR today would have cost $1000 just 3-4 years ago, but build quality also seems to go downhill as time goes on, for entry level systems.

3. Junie

Junie Agent

Thanks for the post. I see what you mean. Sometimes when you have the equipment in ? It's hard to face the facts. Right now I'm upgrading my speakers starting with the fronts and center.I just got paradigm Mini Monitors for the fronts and looking to get the cc370 for the center soon. I like the HK brand as well as Onkyo. So many brands to consider. I hope I don't have the same troubles you had with your Sony at least for the next 6-8 months. Thanks for the info.

PEACE!!!!

4. Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield Executive Producer