Sony KP-57WS510 initial impressions

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ChrisYK, Jan 28, 2004.

1. ChrisYK

ChrisYK Stunt Coordinator

Got my TV yesterday and am excited just to have it in the house.

Some first impressions:
    1. I initially wasn't crazy about the aesthetics of the TV when I saw it at the store, but once I got it set up in my house I'm actually pleased with the low-key, unobtrusive all-silver finish. I was also afraid that the silver finish might be a distraction even with the lights down low, but I can't even see it with the lights off.

2. The flash focus is actually pretty good. You are required to do an initial flash focus prior to manual convergence setting and I only had to make minimal adjustments (maybe because I'm a newbie?). I don't have a calibration disk yet, but I used the THX optimizer tests to "rough-tune" the picture and it seems to have helped.

3. I don't have a pro-scan DVD player yet (no bashing, please [​IMG] I'm a newbie and have much to upgrade... the TV was the first step), and I watched Signs last night via S-video connection and it looked sort of grainy. Monsters, Inc., however, looked excellent and the colors all kind of "popped" like I've never seen before. All in all, I am very pleased with the DVD picture quality.

4. I currently watch normal TV over coaxial cable (again, please no bashing) and was actually pleased with the picture quality. I had been bracing myself for the worst in this regard but was pleasantly surprised. Along these lines, the "Wide Zoom" mode is excellent at filling the entire screen with minimal distortion and cropping. It has become my default 4:3 viewing mode.

Now some questions:
    1. Will upgrading the coaxial cable itself improve my SD PQ?

2. I changed my DVD player setting to 16:9. Should the TV be set at "Full" when watching DVDs?

3. Where can I find the "make" info on the TV (i.e. when/where it was manufactured)? Just out of curiosty.