What's new

Sony KP-51WS520 Noob-Review *Long Read* (1 Viewer)

Wes_R

Agent
Alright, after having this RP for about a week now, i can now kinda give an in depth review. Take note, im new to the HT scene so my opinions and comparisons might not be on par with all of yours.

This is my setup so far, nothing more nothing less.
- Sony 51" KP-51WS520
- XBox w/Monster 400 component cables (serves as DVD player as well)
- TW Digital Cable box w/RCA Svideo/Audio cable combo.

Alright, upon inspection you can clearly see the aesthetics are very different from last years model (510). The fluid'ness of the housing is in my opinion alot better looking than last years model (no offense anyone).
Other than the looks and new HDMI/DVI output theres no difference. The dimensions are exactly the same, still has protective screen, menus are about the same, this model also rolls around which makes it easy to move around (Already came in handy). On carpet, you cant even see the wheels.

**Run flash focus 30-40min after watching tv for the first time. Many people look over this**

Turning it on, i immediately turn down the contrast and brightness as they were on %100 death level. Hooked everything up and began to tweak and play with the settings. I enjoy tweaking it and adjusting things here and there. After 30-40min of watching tv, allowing it to warm up, i flash focused it as the instruction book said. I really dont know what it does, but i think it made the picture a bit cleaner.

**If you dont have hdtv cable box, hook them up via svideo as the coax rf cable is just poor quality, i noticed a significant difference with the switch**

Hooking up the xbox with the 400 cables, i think is a necessity to use component cables RGB over anything else. Adjusted my xbox's settings accordingly to accomodate the video settings of the TV. Games are soo beautiful i get immersed in the eyecandy over gameplay. Its incredible playing Ninja Gaiden with the lights out.