What's new

Sony HTIB at walmart (1 Viewer)

Raymond lee Leggs

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Raymond Lee Leggs
There is a sony HTIB at walmart with a real receiver and its only 177.00.

I was vondering if this was really a good buy. It does seem to have more features and sound better than most HTIB's do especially seince the sub is an "8" instead of the usual "4" woofer in a big bandpass enclosure that most HTIBS do seem to have. and the speakers enclosures arent hollow to the touch like most simliar speakers.

There are some Nice LG systems at sears but I think most are over $300.00 :eek: and they have a built in DVDP :eek: I prefer the seperate DVDP option because I do not trust CD and DVD changers (too noisy, skip too much sometimes get jammed and destroy your $30.00 DVD :eek: )

Mark Talmadge

Senior HTF Member
Well, I don't about the Sony one, but I have had some good experiences with the Magnavox HTIB's, they're generally pretty good at reproducing the 5.1 surround sound ...

Raymond lee Leggs

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Raymond Lee Leggs

I sure would BTW. If my current Durabrand HTIB subwoofer has Pre- Ins for DVD/Aux and Media player (which it does) could I use it as a standalone sub? it does have speaker outputs for the speakers on the back.

I do like the sound of the current speaker package.

I was thinking about getting an insignia receiver with subwoofer Pre-outs its either that or get a whole New HTIB which isnt a problem seince they are mainly the same price. (after taxes) I was leaning on the sony seince it has auto calibration but a bigger (but passive) subwoofer with more excursion.

Dave Moritz

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave Moritz