What's new

Sony DVP650-SACD playback (1 Viewer)

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Yohan,

Dale must mean the DVP-NC650V. The only other '650' DVD player Sony has ever made is the second-generation DVP-C650D DVD changer that does not play SACDs.

Dale,

I have limited experience with the 'NC650V. It looks like a nice player for the money, especially when you consider that the price dropped from $400 to $330 recently (Crutchfield, for example). I just got the SCD-CE775, which is similar to the 'NC650V, except that it doesn't play DVDs. For the money ($200), the 'CE775 is quite impressive with SACDs. I imagine the 'NC650V is solid in this regard as well.

DaleV

Agent
Sorry, yes I did mean the DVP-NC650V. It's also one of the ones I am considering. Thanks for your replies.

DaleV

Agent
Not necessarily at just SACD players Keith. I'm replacing an older Yamaha CD changer thats tired. I had the thing since 1989 and its finally on its last change. I'm looking for an acceptable replacement and thought I might as well look into a changer that also does SACD and maybe even DVD. I have an older model Sony DVD changer(DVP650D)and if the DVPNC650V plays SACD and DVDs equally well I was considering it. I also looked into the SCD-ce775 but the local CC still wants $350 for theirs. Right now in the house is a Yamaha CDC685 cd player(not sacd)that i'm trying out. Its nice but has a tray I'm not really crazy about.The local Best Buy has the DVPNC650V for $329 right now. So has anyone heard how this unit plays any of the media it was designed for? How about regular CD's on it? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance

KeithH

Senior HTF Member