1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Sony DVP-S3000 Firmware upgrade

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael Harris, Oct 29, 2001.

  1. Michael Harris

    Michael Harris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know if there is a firmware upgrade available for this player. Mine has been doing some funky things especially on Fox discs such as freezing up. This has occured on Die Hard, X-files series, and Cleopatra.
    Also (sorry for the neophyte type question) but what exactly is involved in a firmware upgrade, what does it cost, can a techno savvy person do it or does it require a service visit.
    I looked at Sony's website for info but it does not even list this player since, I believe, it is old and no longer manufactured. Thanks
     
  2. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have one and have never heard about a firmware upgrade. It may just need a to be aligned, which you can do through the system menus. Go to: http://www.brouhaha.com/~eric/video/...7000/#testmode
    The procedure for the 3000 is the same as the 7000. I think Drive Auto Adjustment should do it. There was something I ran in there that asked me to instert both a single layer and dual layer disc so it could realign the mechanisms.
     
  3. Michael Harris

    Michael Harris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the link. I found it very helpful. I ran the various alignment routines only to find that an error occured during the alignment for dual layered discs. Guess that means I do have a problem that will require professional care.
     
  4. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recommend that you try the alignment again with different dual-layered discs. Maybe multiple attempts would get it working. As much as I love my player, I can't see paying someone to work on it, unless you have an extended warranty. With the low-end Sony's starting at $200, I can't imagine it making much sense to repair an old player when the repair fee will most likely be at least $100.
     
  5. Scott Barnhart

    Scott Barnhart Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Michael,
    I also have an S3000. While I have never done the alignment, I remember several years ago when that link was first put up that several people had it fail in the auto-alignment, but it still fixed the problem DVD that caused them to run it in the first place. Also, I remember alot of people saying that when it says to put in a Dual-layer disc that you were NOT supposed to use an RSDL disc, but rather an dual-layer disc like ??? (Tomorrow Never Dies?) where both the Widescreen and P&S versions were on separate layers of the disc but on the same side. I am not sure what all movies were like this but I am pretty sure one of the Brosnan James Bond DVD's is.
    Scott
    ------------------
    Scott Barnhart
    [email protected]
     
  6. Michael Harris

    Michael Harris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still trying but thanks for the info. I ran a single layer disc with no problem. Figured out through trial and error that dual layer does mean RSDL since the alignment routine kicks out any other type of disc. Still getting an error in the DL routine but will keep trying. Just want to get as much life as possible before getting a new player. Need one that passes a DTS bitstream anyway.
     

Share This Page