What's new

Sony Dream Systems (1 Viewer)

Nick_NMK

Auditioning
I have been actively listening to home theatre systems the past few weeks. Have ruled out the equipment from Bose, just seems like a lot of $$$.

I have also looked at the Kenwood 504 systems and Yamaha 34s.

Any experience from the "group"?

Nick, in Madison

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
I have no experience with it but I've heard the 504 is anice system with some great features. Hope this helps.

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
I know a lot of people here love the Kenwood HTBs (Home Theaters in a Box). I don't really know about the others.

Chris Smith

Stunt Coordinator
I started out with the HTB 503, a slightly older model of the 504 (I think the major difference is the 504 has DPLII, but don't quote me on that), and I'll let you know what I thought of it, and then someone else can chime in on the other system.
The main speakers were pretty decent. In fact, I am still using them, although they are my surrounds (didn't have enough money to upgrade ALL 5 channels). The center channel and the surround channels are pretty bad, though. They are all a single small midrange driver to drive the entire spectrum. The center channel is the same speaker as the surrounds but packaged in a different box to make it look more center channel like.
The Sub is decent for the size and price. Gets loud, if that is what you are after, but is also a little boomy, but very decent for price.
The Receiver, at least the one in the 503, was also pretty good. It had a lot of video and audio inputs (6 s-video inputs, which I severly miss). Kenwood is known to "cook" their numbers, so don't take those 100 wpc to heart, which distortion and power loss, it is much less than that. But it sounds pretty good, again, for the price.