Sony and Prog Scan

Discussion in 'Displays' started by GabeP, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. GabeP

    GabeP Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a 20 inch Sony flat screen trinitron, it has component input, can it play prog scan?
     
  2. Lev-S

    Lev-S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. [​IMG]
     
  3. ChuckSolo

    ChuckSolo Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, you have to have a digital (read HDTV) set to get progressive output from the component connections on the TV and DVD player. In your case, the component connection on your Sony will yield about a 10-20% increase in picture quality over S-Video, but it will not be progressive scan.
     
  4. GabeP

    GabeP Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    then why does it have it?
     
  5. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Because component is better than s-video, even when transmitting 480i. It is not the connection that allows progressive scan, it is the circuitry inside the TV. Without a progressive scan capable TV, component connections are just better connections for interlaced video.
     
  6. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since we're essentially talking about that 20-inch Sony, we'll move the discussion over to here in Display Devices.
     
  7. GabeP

    GabeP Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought it was?
     

Share This Page